StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Can’t seem to learn to spin at all

• Can’t seem to learn to spin at all

Posted by imgalvin6056 on October 29, 2021 at 12:45 am

Hi
    I am an older beginner 52 ! – normal body weight and reasonably fit . I am trying to learn pole for the past 2 months – 1 group class and 1 private class most weeks
    So far I can do pole sits , lift one leg of the ground for beginning time climb , pole tucks with both legs up briefly
    I cannot do spins at all – backhook , front hook , firemen’s … no sucsss
    I cannot lift both legs off the floor . Hi ya seems the combination of speed and coordination gets me
    I am a slow learner in the coordination dept ( mild birth hypoxia ) but once I get a move I retain it normality
    The instructor thinks it’s fear but I don’t think so as o am a strong skier who is used to speed
    I feel it’s a combination of issues but I can’t figure it out
    Anyone have any ideas

imgalvin6056 replied 2 years, 5 months ago 6 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    October 29, 2021 at 2:05 am

Hi! Spins actually take a bit of time to be able to do. They’re listed at the end of my Beginner section for that reason. So don’t feel discouraged at all, this is normal.

Can I ask if you’ve gone through my 30 day take off program? https://www.studioveena.com/lessons/view_category/30-day-take-off if you have that’s great and I suggest moving on to the level one beginner program after that to help you continue building the skill and strength for spins.

Also know that static spins can be more challenging for a lot of dancers and spinning pole is just holds while the pole does the work. You could try working on spin (if you have that option) until your grip becomes stronger. When you’re ready to try the spins start from standing in place, just to get the feel, then move on to walking into it which gives you the momentum needed. Have you tried my tutorials for the spins you listed?