StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions apt inspection – leave it up or take it down?

  • apt inspection – leave it up or take it down?

    Posted by AgentPersephone on April 4, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    hello pole people! i’m a newbie here… i’ve been taking pole classes for over a year, but i just got my own pole a couple of months ago. it’s an xpole – not the new kind.

    i got a notice yesterday afternoon that annual apartment inspections are taking place in my complex on monday, and i’m seeking some advice about what to do with the pole. it’s up in my living room, so there’s no hiding it. i can’t decide if i should take it down or leave it up. i’m pretty quiet about my adventures with the pole, and if you saw me on the street, i’d be the last person on the planet that you would imagine having this as a hobby. it’s not really something that i want my landlord and the half-skanky maintenance men to know about. HOWEVER, i can’t get the pole up and down by myself, and i live alone. if i take it down for the inspections, it could be a few weeks before my friend who knows how to get it up and down can come over and help me get it back up.

    also, it doesn’t make any holes in the ceiling or floor, so i can’t imagine that they would have any sort of authority to make me remove it permanently, but i’m not too sure about that. anyone faced this sort of situation before?

    poledanceromance replied 14 years, 1 month ago 11 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • Charley

    Member
    April 4, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I would take it down. I know it sucks to be off the pole a few weeks BUT it’s better than having to explain the whole thing. They may ask you to take it down anyway so they can see that it’s not attached to anything in the floor or ceiling.

    If you have the old pole, just take down the adjuster rod and leave the pole pieces together and slide it under your bed. You should be able to put it back up then as long as you have a studfinder and a step ladder.

  • Mary Ellyn

    Member
    April 5, 2010 at 2:39 am

    First I wouldn’t risk it…why look for trouble when you don’t have to? They may not care…heck the inspectors wife may have their own pole…but it’s not worth the trouble if they don’t understand.

    On the other hand….WOMAN learn to put up your own pole. PLEASE do not be dependent on your man or ANY man to set it up for you. You’re a pole dancer, you’re strong, you’re empowered….you CAN put up your own pole!

  • CheeryBomb

    Member
    April 5, 2010 at 5:29 am

    I agree with the ladies on this one. There’s no reason to risk it. Just take it down for the day.

    Second, I also agree 100% with Empyrean. Learn to put up/take down/assemble/disassemble your own pole. You are an incredibly beautiful, strong, and intelligent woman, and you can do it. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_monkey.gif We will help you here at Studio Veena. Veena actually has a fantastic video demonstrating how to put the older version of the Xpole together and up. (You can find this video in the forums under the section titled "Dance Poles") It may be a bit easier with two people https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_neutral.gif , but you can definitely do it with one person. Just practice and keep trying until you get it right. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_cheers.gif

    Lastly, don’t be too shy to ask us for help. No one will judge you here and everyone is very encouraging. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_thumleft.gif Goodluck!

  • Tine007

    Member
    April 5, 2010 at 7:54 am

    I wouldn’t risk it either and take it down.
    I always do before I get anyone from the leasing office/ maintenance in my apartment.

    My lease doesn’t say anything about putting up things, so before I got my mirrors (long before I bought my pole) I asked and the answer was "You can put up anything you like, as long as you put it on the studs/joists and close up any holes before you move out". I decided that includes my pole.

    *BUT* still…
    (1) The leasing office makes the rules. Period. You don’t want to be kicked out or even "just" forbidden to have your pole because the leasing office is shocked by a "stripper" pole in one of their apartments. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_silent.gif
    (2) It looks humongous and for sure will draw attention and likely rise the question if it damages the place, no matter if it is recognized as "stripper" pole or not. I can’t blame anyone being worried about the integrity of their apartment https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_pale.gif. But then I wouldn’t really wanna explain what it is because of point (1)…
    (3) You don’t want to be stalked by a maintenance guy who thinks you are a stripper https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_thumbdown.gif https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_rambo.gif Logically, they know where you live…

    Better safe than sorry https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_safesex.gif https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_safesex.gif https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_safesex.gif

  • pink_zombie

    Member
    April 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    not sure if you have carpet or floor where your xpole sits.. but that is the other thing, my old apartment i had, they told me i had to put something under it, becasuse they didnt want their carpet ruined. (it makes a worse inprint then most furnature)… so i did.. but that might be their other concern.. also some places if you have nice hard wood floors they might be more concerned about that.. even though we know it wont ruin it..

    but yes there is also the actual xpole video that comes with xpole itself. on youtube just type in xpole installation and as the other girl had said, there is one on here.. take the dome, and bottom off, throw them in the closet and leave the whole pole together and throw it under the bed..

    you can do it.. actually we should set you up on video chat and maybe walk you through it if need be..

    good luck girly

  • PoleDanceABCs

    Member
    April 6, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Yeah, just take it down. They might not believe you that, 1) it isn’t nailed/screwed/whatever in, and 2) it doesn’t create damage until they see it down.

    It is a really good idea to have a spotter whenever putting up heavy-duty equipment but you def. can put the pole up on your own. It is a little weird holding onto something heavy while going up a step ladder but you get used it fast.

  • loopielou

    Member
    April 6, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I would take it down. My xpole has left a ring on the ceiling where it has been up – even though there is no proper damage, it might be worth inspecting yourself as well to make sure. Also, if you do have carpet, there will be a flat bit where the pole was so you might want to take it down before they turn up so you can vacuum that up and try unflatten it https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif

  • pink_zombie

    Member
    April 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    or grab a area rug. or some furnature to put over the carpet if there is a ring, and just keep vaccuming it, i had a carpet washer thing and that helped, but it also depends on what type of carpet too.

  • Journey

    Member
    April 6, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I saw this tip on one of those shows about house flipping and real estate:

    Dents in carpets from furniture and stuff (like a pole) can be gotten rid of quick and easy by putting ice cubes in the impressions. The carpet fibers slowly absorb the water from the melting ice, making them un-squish, and then they dry that way.

    They had this as a tip because the dents that furniture leaves can be a turn-off to potential buyers of your home. Yeah, everyone knows they’re not permanent, but no one likes reminders of the previous owners being left behind. I haven’t tried it but it makes sense. Just keep in mind that the base to a pole is really big, so maybe just do a few cubes around the edges or something – you don’t want to soak the carpet then end up with mold growing under it or something.

  • miss fern

    Member
    April 7, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Yea for the carpet thing the ice tip is good. Also, my Mum and I just scrubbed at it, with carpet cleaner and stuff to help puff it back out, and then vacuumed the area A LOT. We repeated the whole process about 3 times, with a day in between to let it airate and settle. Eventually it came back to normal. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif

  • PoleDanceABCs

    Member
    April 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I love it… we are pole dancers and Martha Stewarts rolled into one. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_cheers.gif

  • poledanceromance

    Member
    April 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I love it… we are pole dancers and Martha Stewarts rolled into one. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_cheers.gif

    Not me so much. I throw a rug over it. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_lol.gif

Log in to reply.