StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Year two and very slow but making some progress

• Year two and very slow but making some progress

Posted by imgalvin6056 on August 5, 2023 at 3:50 pm

I am now in my second year of pole . I do it about 4 times a week but there are some gaps if work gets busy
    Currently I can do sits , side sits , one climb ( not the next one though as I haven’t enough strength to hold my entire body up and take my legs off ) pole hold with legs off is ok though , wrist sits , planks , fireman’s spin .attitude spin , back hook and chair spins . Fan legs are slowly improving . I can’t do any sort of shoulder stands , hand stands or easy ups and sweet Jesus I am light years away from inverting !!!
    Not sure why I am sooooo slow as I do yoga as well 3 days a week
    I know everyone is different but slow isn’t what anyone wants to be lol

imgalvin6056 replied 9 months, 2 weeks ago 2 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    August 5, 2023 at 8:20 pm

I saw your Reddit post as well, but I’ll just answer here. 🙂

As long as you have a feeling that you “should” be at a certain point, and this goes for everything, even life. You’ll have to deal with feelings of not being enough, or behind.

Take a few minutes and write down what your motivation is for learning to pole dance? Is it for fun, to stay fit, to compete to prove something to others or yourself, or reach a certain level? If you feel it’s to reach a certain level then ask yourself why you want this? Understanding why we want something can help unlock things in our mind. In my opinion the most fun way to approach pole is for fun and exercise. It’s what I try to facilitate in my lessons, but I understand most people want and expect to see progress or “finish” everything here.