StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions The New Kid

• The New Kid

Posted by secret_shelby on March 2, 2009 at 1:54 am

Hi everyone! You can call me Shelby or Taylor. Shelby is my nickname, Taylor (or Tay) is my real name.

I’m ordering my pole in a couple weeks as an alternative to continuing the adult beginner ballet classes I am taking this semester at Boston Ballet that are kinda expensive : / Otherwise, I have no dance background. Rather, I’m going to school here in Boston for art (animation in particular!).

I can’t wait to get my pole! I will definitely post vids right away, but until then I enjoy seeing everyone’s hard work!

SaschaPoles replied 15 years, 5 months ago 4 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    March 2, 2009 at 4:08 am

Hi, so nice to have you here. Have fun with your ballet class. I have always wanted to take a ballet class let us know how you like them. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif

• secret_shelby

March 2, 2009 at 4:12 am

It’s a lot of fun, but certainly difficult, mostly because it’s hard to go home and practice since there are so many things you have to be careful of (posture, arms, feet, turn out, tailbone, head, neck, expression, etc.) so you can’t really know if you’re doing it right unless there’s an instructor there.

That’s one of the reasons I like the idea of pole dancing; you can practice whenever you like, and if you do something wrong, you’ll know right away and have the bruises as a reminder : P

And though I do enjoy the class, an x-pole is about half the price of a semester’s worth of classes and it lasts a lot longer than just one semester sooooo I think we know which one wins haha

• secret_shelby

March 2, 2009 at 4:18 am

PS how do I upload an avatar for the forums?

• Veena

Administrator
    March 2, 2009 at 4:35 am

PS how do I upload an avatar for the forums?

Just add a photo to your account, then it will show up by your user name.

• pole-twista