StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Pole grip

• Pole grip

Posted by Sunshine88 on March 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Hello,

I recently got a stainless steel pole. It is very slippery! I had only used brass before and there is such a big difference. I know that I shouldn’t rely on grip aid but I need something to help me out a little!

What works best for you? Thus far I have just found that rubbing alcohol is the best but it’s not that great.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

poledanceromance replied 14 years, 4 months ago 10 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • sexycat

March 16, 2010 at 4:37 am

My instructor here on the Gold Coast in Australia informed me that even though not great for your hands and not nice to smell, that methylated spirits gives you all the grip you need!

• minicoopergrl

March 16, 2010 at 10:53 am

I wash my hands w/antibacteral soap before I dance. Ive been using brass for many years. One day I had alot of stuff on my hands and went to go wash it all off. Its like it strips everything from them. Im also a heavy sweater, so this helped as well w/my grip.

• Journey

March 16, 2010 at 2:50 pm

If it makes you feel any better (don’t know if you already knew this), but once you get the pole broken in, it’ll grip better.

I use Tite Grip, but it’s a hand antiperspirant – so if your hands don’t sweat it won’t help you much. A lot of dancers like Mighty Grip, but it’s too sticky for spins. I’ve found that rubbing alcohol does nothing for me.

• Sunshine88

March 16, 2010 at 3:08 pm

I had no idea that you can break in a pole!

Maybe I’ll try something like might grip just to help me get some work in on inverts.

I also strained something in my back right behind my shoulder blade and although it generally feels better, if I don’t warm up a lot I can still feel it when I try to pull myself up.

• Journey

March 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

I had no idea that you can break in a pole! .