StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions New to stretching confused about… Stuff…

• New to stretching confused about… Stuff…

Posted by Tamarinda on May 4, 2013 at 11:48 am

Hey guys newbie here. I've been at it for a little bit over a month. I just want to start off by saying that I am absolutely in love with this website. Veena is a wonderful teacher and her lessons have helped me so much with the progress I have made. I have made slow and steady progress and my strength has increased more and more I am so proud of myself. I have been getting compliments about improved muscle tone and apparently people tell me I look thinner too :). It's hard to not want to jump around to things I can't do yet but I learned to stop doing that and be more patient with the process. I still have loooooong ways to go.

On the flip side stretching has been a challenge I have some questions. I am sorry if I sound stupid I know little. What does it mean to lengthen a muscle? Veena says to contract certain muscles while stretching. This means to tense up right? How does the contraction of muscles aid stretching? I thought the purpose of stretching (remember I know nothing) was to relax your muscles and let go of tension. Sometimes in certain stretches I find that my body is tense in certain areas and then Veena says to contract certain muscles and well this all confuses me. Explain to me tension in the body and how it is or isn't supposed to relate to stretching.