StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions My weird hips

• My weird hips

Posted by Mindy4pole on October 6, 2010 at 4:30 am

There is something in my hip system that is weird. Even though I’m a massage therapist, I haven’t been able to figure it out. Basically, my legs turn out. So, when I do a move like butterfly, my free leg drops back at a weird angle instead of straight back. I’ve gotten my hubby to position my hips when I am sitting with one knee on the floor, and one knee up, and it is painful to have my hips straight, especially on my left side.

I think this weird turn has made some pole moves easier. Pole sits are just like normal sitting (they’ve never hurt), and I was able to do laybacks very early on. But it’s getting really old!! I can’t do a front split worth anything. I know how to do the body positioning for Jades, but my leg won’t drop back enough for it to look decent at all. I have a crooked butterfly. Errr… I also have pretty limited range of motion when I try to bring my knees to my chest. My hamstrings are certainly very tight, but I think they are the result, not the cause of the problems.

SO — any ideas on how I can fix it? I’m fairly sure that a physical therapist could diagnose the issue and give me exercises to help, but would that require me to go through my doctor? And what would I say? This is affecting my pole dancing, and I need help?? I’ve thought about massage therapists, but the hip is such a complex system, and I’m not sure I would be able to find one specialized enough to help me. Do chiropractors do hip alignment?? Any other ideas?

Thanks so much!!
    Mindy

Prncsopowr replied 13 years, 7 months ago 5 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • keex

October 6, 2010 at 4:43 am