StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Is anyone else in gymnastics?

• Is anyone else in gymnastics?

Posted by MissJulie on November 12, 2009 at 4:10 am

Ok so my favorite videos to watch on you tube are always Girlfriend Fun and Fitnesses… I love their gymnastics style of pole and I want to have that power to be able to do things I cant do now like flag mount, cartwheels, and handsprings.

I’ve been doing adult gymnastics for six months…. I still can’t do a cartwheel. I get scared of falling on my head and fall over to the side or I just can’t get my legs straight. I can barely hold a handstand for more than two seconds. My splits are okay but I can’t get into them any way other than very slowly. I can fall back into a backbend but can’t kick into a back walkover. My "coach" has no interest in spotting me unless I ask, really he spends all his time on the already-advanced students who did gymnastics when they were children/teens (I’m almost 30 and brand new to it). They don’t even give us the whole studio- we have to share a small square of it with a loud annoying cheerleading team.

Also when I bring this up to other people they act like I’m retarded- why can’t I do a cartwheel? I brought my boyfriend, who has no flexibility and has never done a gymnastics class before- and he was able to do a cartwheel and a roundoff the first class he tried.

I’m starting to think I should just spend my time doing the strength based stuff I’m actually good at.. rock climbing, aerial arts, etc… and give up on power. but it sucks!!! Does anyone have a problem like this???

Julie

bttrswtbeauty replied 14 years, 8 months ago 12 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • chemgoddess1

November 12, 2009 at 3:22 pm

I so would not give money to someone who was not helping me.

Have you tried plyometrics?

• Pixie Daye

November 12, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Also when I bring this up to other people they act like I’m retarded- why can’t I do a cartwheel?