StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Get your Ego Boost!

• Get your Ego Boost!

Posted by Carrington on February 19, 2014 at 12:04 am

So I had a friend over the other day who has been nagging me about a dance. I told him I still needed to practice and I’m still a beginner. After his encouragement I put on my shirts turned on some music and went for it. The look on his face was priceless. His words and I quote” I’ve had lots of friends who have poles in their house and they just sit there. They just walk around thinking they are doing something. But girl U good. U got skills!” Sometimes the ego boost is just what u need to keep going! You are better than u think u are!

lilmissRe replied 10 years, 3 months ago 6 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Isis Kane

February 19, 2014 at 12:17 am

What’s nice about pole is that to the outsider, everything we do is amazing, or at least it looks pretty/sexy/cool. Sometimes I feel more comfortable demonstrating my talents to people who don’t know much about pole, because they’re not scrutinizing every damned technicality LOL they are just laying back and enjoying, and being wow’d.

One of my friends introduced me as a pole fiend, and was going on about how I make it into art etc. It was such a compliment, I was really bashful about it because I was thinking like oh come on I can only do so much on the pole. But it’s true-pole is my art, I do get creative with it, and I am good at it, even though I am not yet an advanced dancer.

I remember when I started, there were so many things I wanted to do, that I can now do so easily. I used to look at dancers who could do these spins or tricks so effortlessly and be like “WOW!” We had to work really hard to be at the skill level we’re at now, and it’s always going to be the case that there is something to “improve”. We’re always going to be a beginner at something in pole.

With time and getting outside of our comfort zone, we become more comfortable showcasing our talents to others.