StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Front Split Struggles

• Front Split Struggles

Posted by emmasculator on September 12, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Hello all,
    So I’ve been working on my front split for almost two years now (consistently for a year). I’m not naturally flexible, and years of soccer did not really do much to loosen up my hamstrings. I have a tendency to push myself really hard, get injured, and then get sad. So I’ve been trying to move slowly and not excessively push myself, but now I’m wondering if I am doing something wrong since it is taking so much time. I read this blog (super legit I’m sure) that said that if you are stretching consistently and its taking you a while then you probably are stretching with improper technique. The first thing I targeted in my stretching was my hamstrings and I stretched those 3 days a week for 20-30 minutes (not including warm up.) Then I added hamstring and hip stretching except hips are 4 times a week for about 10-15 minutes. I’ve definitely made progress from where I started. My jade is much flatter,and my allegra is much more open, but when I try to do front splits on the ground, I feel as if I’ve made no progress there and struggle to get down farther. Anyone have any tips or suggestions? They would be greatly appreciated!

emmasculator replied 7 years, 8 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Runemist34

September 12, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Hey!
    I realize this can be one of those super frustrating things to hear… but it can take a lot of time! I know a lot of people who said it took them years (up to 5 years) to really get their splits flat.
    I’m happy to hear you aren’t pushing yourself too hard! I did this a few times during a hamstring stretch, and injured them pretty bad. 6 months to heal, and it would hurt SO MUCH sometimes! Seriously, stretching can be just as hard on the muscles as strength training!