StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Core Exercises

• Core Exercises

Posted by Janey111 on August 18, 2009 at 7:13 pm

Hi,
    I have been poling for about 18 months now but we rarely do any core exercises as part of our dance class which I attend twice a week.
    I can go upside down but only by kicking up and from some of the posts on here I believe this is the wrong way to do an invert. I cannot however do the helicopter as i dont seem to have the core strength and before poling I have never done any form of exercise in my life (apart from at the very begininng of my poling I hired a personal trainer for 3 months to help with my arm strength).
    What can I do to help strenthen my core?? I have seen the video which one of the other girls made for sissybuns for the abs workout but im finding the one were you lie on the floor and pull up so your feet are pointing to the ceiling, really hard as it seems to be hurting my back as my back is arched slightly and it doesnt lie flat on the floor. So I think I am straining my back trying to do this.
    I can however do the practise for the open v workout but this only works the bottom two abs doesnt it?
    I am really bugged as all of the other girls in class have a lot more core strength than me but from talking to them they have been gym goers all their lives so i guess its expected.
    I really want to do something to try and catch up a little ??
    Any suggestions would be really appreciated.
    thanks
    Janey

Janey111 replied 14 years, 11 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • RoxyPink

August 18, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Hey Janey…not sure why you’d be straining your back on the shoulder stands…my back arches too (dosen’t lie flat on the floor)…if it hurts..don’t do it!! but you could also do these modified where you just lift your legs off of the floor maybe two ft…or flutter kicks!