StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Any DIY grip aid ideas?

• Any DIY grip aid ideas?

Posted by Duopoly on June 4, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Hey everyone!

So I’m a beginner. I’m almost through with the 30 day take off, and I’m quite excited to move forward on my pole journey 🙂

One problem, my legs are so dry that they slip right off no matter how warm I am, or how warm the pole is 🙁 You can imagine how difficult climbs are as a result. And there are no grip aids like itac, tite grip etc available here.

So far I’ve tried glycerine, vinegar, antiperspirant, even toothpaste. Nothing works. At best I get a good-ish grip for 5 mins or so before the effect wears off and I have to wipe residue off the pole.

Any ideas for what else I can try? My pole is stainless steel, if it helps to know. I also clean my pole after every session.

DianneF replied 7 years, 11 months ago 8 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Kellye Perkins

June 4, 2016 at 1:48 pm

I have good luck with Corn Huskers Lotion. About $3.50 at Walmart is where I buy it. You might try running a humidifier in your pole room a half hour before you practice. Also, riding a stationary bike with sweatpants on will help you bring moisture to those dry legs. I have also had good luck using ‘Total Moisture’ Body Lotion by Vaseline Intensive Care the night before a pole day. Good Luck:)

• Phoenix Hunter

June 4, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Yes I’ve heard corn huskers is good for this. Also plain aloe Vera gel

• Catsanctuary177663

June 4, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Is there mail delivery? I get all my grip aids off amazon.com. I have dry skin and find itac has worked best. Congratulations on your pole journey, it will change your life!

• Veena

Administrator
    June 4, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Try luberderm or an off brand, it’s what I use and works well. Apply it the night before so it will not grease up the pole.

• Elyse Hauke

June 5, 2016 at 10:24 pm