StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Advice on posture and shoulder pain please!

• Advice on posture and shoulder pain please!

Posted by Syren on October 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Hello ladies,
    I’m hoping for some advice! I’m a beginner at pole dance, I have had a couple of lessons where we learnt some basic spins and I own a pole which I have been practising them on. Due to work commitments I’m not able to have another pole dance lesson for 2 weeks so I’ve been practising the spins I’ve been taught already at home.

However, yesterday I felt a twinge in my shoulder and today it’s been hurting so I’ve kept off the pole. I’m positive it’s because my posture is all wrong when I’m holding the pole. I read on google something about how your shoulders are meant to be back? And down? Is that correct? Any advice/ pictures/ videos on form and posture regarding the upper body would be much appreciated because I know the shoulder joint can be delicate and I don’t want to cause myself any long term injury because of bad practise.

Thank you so much!

michaelaarghh replied 9 years, 7 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • I polekat I

October 21, 2014 at 5:17 am

do you have the online lessons here? Veena goes into a lot of detail explaining different stretches and exercises for shoulders (and everywhere else!!) Pole dancing is especially tough on the arms and shoulders, it seems lots of pole dancers have pain here (me included!) – what I have learnt from this site is that it is very important to do all the correct conditioning to make sure you are building strength and engaging your muscles correctly…. for example what you said : the scapula (shoulder blade) should be ‘down and back’ in a neutral position – my first pole dance teacher never ever mentioned anything about this at all, or in fact showed us any kind of safe muscle engagement at all!! This is part of the reason Veena and this site are so great =) Congratulations on starting your pole journey !!! =)