StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions plaster and lathe ceiling – old house

• plaster and lathe ceiling – old house

Posted by andreea27 on September 12, 2020 at 12:35 am

hi everyone!! I just bought my first home pole after wanting one for almost a year. Just before it got here I texted my landlord to double check if it would be safe and she said she is worried about potential ceiling or floor damage. I live in an old wooden house built in 1910 in Berkeley, so I understand her concerns, although she said the ceiling is plaster and lathe which seems like a pretty common type of ceiling that people have installed poles on. I don’t want to do anything unsafe, but I am wondering if anyone else has experience installing a pole in a house like this?

In the likely case that I can’t install my pole safely, I was wondering if anyone has any ideas about how I could build a base for it and turn it into a freestanding pole? I am a college student and can’t afford to buy a stage pole and I haven’t had any luck finding a used one.

Please let me know if you have any advice for me, and thank you for your help!

andreea27 replied 3 years, 7 months ago 2 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    September 12, 2020 at 3:06 am

I can’t speak for your ceiling for sure but I lived in an old home with plaster and lathe and it was actually very strong! Because of how it was put together there was lots of support and I don’t have to worry about finding joists. At least the way our was done. You won’t hurt the floor with the pole as long as they are in good shape, like not sagging or rotted. Removable poles all have silicone on the bottom to protect and prevent slipping. It’s hard to say without seeing it or feeling it…

• andreea27

September 12, 2020 at 5:29 am