StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Your insights and advice needed re. *fear* of bruising

• Your insights and advice needed re. *fear* of bruising

Posted by gina g on October 3, 2018 at 2:09 am

Hey lovely pole posse,
    I am a newbie, this week will be my 14th week at class 🙂
    For the past month going x2 classes per week: one class is for beginner tricks, the other for flexibility and transitions/choreo with little pole work.
    I also have a pole at home and have just restarted my 30 day take off here at StudioVeena. xx
    Unfortunately for me I am renowned for starting and then giving up when things get difficult!
    I only got to day 12 of the Take Off last time 🙁

This week I notice my hesitation when trying to practice …
    I seem to be fearful of getting more bruising, and so tend to *pull out* of turns or when I practice tricks. Its like my mind does it automatically and I cant stop.
    Eg, with the fireman spin I just cant seem to connedt me feet with the pole, when I used to be able to!
    This is disappointing as I felt so pleased with my progress until now, and I know the only way to get used to the bruising is to keep practicing!!
    Unfortunately for me I have always bruised very easily (since childhood),
    I seem to be a little thin-skinned in more ways than one!
    and I also hate folks pointing out my bruises and asking where I got them.
    At the moment the pole is just for me 🙂

My hubby, who has been very supportive until now, has also become a little paranoid that everyone will think he is rough-handling me …! He seems to mention this daily 🙁

At the moment I am using a bruise cream which helps a little (called Hirudoid here in aust),
    i also have arnica cream in my bag and take homeopathic arnica. Plus Iron and vit C supplements.
    But to be honest the main issue is the hesitation I feel when trying to practice!?!
    The *pulling out* of individual moves rather than being able to dive in completely.