StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions No (former) strippers allowed in my studio competition :(

• No (former) strippers allowed in my studio competition :(

Posted by TroubledWaters on September 5, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Hey folks,

I just found this site and what a blessing I did! I've been training at a local studio for the past 6 months and they're preparing for their annual pole competition. I've been really excited for trying out and seeing how far I could go when I read through the rules and regulations and saw that any current or former exotic dancers are barred from entering. I danced professionally for years, and now only work once every few months (when I really need to pay my car insurance!), and I feel really sad and disappointed that I can't compete. I'm not "out" to anyone at my studio as an exotic dancer, except for a few others that I know have also stripped.

I do understand the desire to keep aerobic pole dancing and strips clubs separate, in fact the two parts of my life couldn't be more different (I do one for money and one for fun!). However, I wonder if it's worth bringing it up to my instructor that I think it's unfair or if that will just make trouble for me in the long run. Has anyone else dealt with this?

I love my instructors and fellow students and I don't want to upset the studio, but I just feel like if they knew I danced professionally it might change their view of strippers and see that we're not all nuts, on drugs, etc. and they might reconsider the clause. There's already way more language in the rules and regulations that deal with behaving properly and representing the studio well than on the stripping part. I'm okay at pole dancing (getting better!), but it's not as if I have an unfair advantage over the other amazing dancers at the studio.

I don't know, what do folks think? I just feel sad and left out right now. Am I being too sensitive?

Thanks!

Michellejade replied 10 years, 7 months ago 36 Members · 60 Replies
  • 60 Replies