StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions I thought I had my front splits until now…

• I thought I had my front splits until now…

Posted by Juicy J on September 14, 2020 at 2:49 am

Hi everyone,

I hope everyone’s thriving and doing well in this weird season.

I started training intensely to get my front splits on both legs since late March as where I live, Sydney Australia, went into lockdown. This meant all gyms and pole studios were closed until further notice and what better time to work on my flexibility.
    I trained for my front splits by using a Splits Training app and live Zoom classes that my pole studio offered.
    Then in early June, I touched down on both legs, 78 days since I started training! I was chuffed with how quick it took!
    Months later, I’ve been gently and gradually increasing the comfort in my front splits until recently, during a class at the studio, an instructor of mine looked at my front splits when we did a splits stretch class and told me that my hips weren’t square. Confused by what he meant, I asked him to please explain as my back knee and foot were facing down on the floor and my shoulders and torso faced forward. My legs were both straight and flat against the floor in a front splits position.
    My instructor told me to look at the position that my back hip was in and I looked down and he said that my hips were very open, so therefore it was not a square split. He told me that my hips had to almost be in a straight line whilst in the splits and mine were on a diagonal.
    I asked him to please tell me how to correct it and to my surprise, he couldn’t demonstrate for me nor put me into the right position. He attempted to put me in the right position but it felt like I was simply rolling over to the other side of my straight leg in the splits in which he still told me my hips weren’t square.