StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Cartwheel off the pole

• Cartwheel off the pole

Posted by Dewy Rose Jenny on November 2, 2019 at 6:19 pm

I’m attempting to learn how to do a cartwheel off the pole, I’m 39 turning 40 at the end of February and I’v never mastered the simple seeming basic cartwheel!!!! I have this goal/dream of being able to cartwheel fully before my 40th

Does any one have any tips on this trick for training them, i’v watched and followed along with a few youtube videos but I’m still struggling, are there any strength training tips? ARe there any pole moves that I could be doing to learn how to kick up my back leg, that seems to be where my problem lies I have this fear of kicking my legs over and around in the air. So I was wondering can I incorporate/combine pole training that will help with the cart wheel? I’m a strong beginner/baby intermediate poler. I’m also thinking that maybe getting the cartwheel will help with my inverts since I’m strong enough but I seem to have a mental block when it comes to getting my hips/legs up past my head in the air.

Thanks for any advice 🙂

Suzanna replied 4 years, 5 months ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Dewy Rose Jenny

November 2, 2019 at 6:26 pm

I’m thinking maybe the elbowstand lesson and the stands routine might be a good place to start?

• Veena

Administrator
    November 2, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Do you mean you want to do a Cartwheel mount? https://www.studioveena.com/lessons/view/4d8361e8-4b5c-46df-a8e6-5d4b0ac37250

This thread may help too https://www.studioveena.com/forums/view/5daf3f29-daac-480e-8489-2835ac110002#bottom

The Stands routine is a great place to start, yes!

• Dewy Rose Jenny

November 3, 2019 at 1:52 am

Lol… Someday I’d love to work on a cartwheel mount but that’s way above my pay grade right now. I’m still working on getting my basic invert clean and pretty. No I mean a basic cartwheel that most kids figure out on the playground in elementary school.