StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Butt Cramp During Split Training?

• Butt Cramp During Split Training?

Posted by StrangeFox on April 20, 2019 at 4:46 pm

I’m almost down, and yes, I’m open but that’s fine by me. 🙂 I’ve been stretching since May 2017, and started in a lunge. I had no idea how to stretch for my body so the going was slow and discouraging. I have to admit I got frustrated and gave up a lot. I’m looking forward to reaching my goal, and I would love to be in a split this summer, but I’m not getting my hopes up. I know my body will do what it wants when it wants.

Right now, my hip flexors are my problem point, although I notice I’ve started feeling almost a cramping feeling in my buttocks when I try to push my hip flexors lower. This isn’t a new sensation. I had this when I started some new hip flexor stretches and it eventually went away and I was able to get deeper into the stretch. I also had this for my pancake and middle splits, but again, with time it passed. Anyone else experience this or know what’s going on? It seems to fix itself once a new range of motion becomes comfortable, so it might just be my body resisting something new and scary.

StrangeFox replied 4 years, 11 months ago 4 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    April 20, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Yay congrates!!!

There are a few reasons for a butt cramp sensation could be your Piriformis for example. A lot of people think their sticking points are one place flexors, hamstrings or quads but really it could be all of these or something else. I’m being very vague cuz without being there to see what’s going on it’s hard to tell. So instead I’ll give you some things to try….

Make sure you are fully warm (I’m sure you already do that, but for the sake of other readers…)

Strengthen the glutes and hips!!! This is so important for flexibility, we need strength too! Try doing your strength work before stretching. There are lots of great leg exercise in the lessons.