StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions anybody been through a career change?

• anybody been through a career change?

Posted by Kira on February 4, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Sorry it's a little off topic from pole but you lovely ladies always have such good advice.

I'm currently working as a full time graphic designer for a small local company that trades online. I take the product shots and produce web banners for them. The job itself is ideal for a new starter like me (even though I graduated 3 years before I got the job!) and the workplace is pretty laid back and flexible. But I'm really unhappy 🙁 It makes me feel 3 years at university was a waste because my manager just wants things to look like ugly and brash, everything that goes against what my creative side wants to do. To him it just has to do it's job ("LOOK AT THIS PRODUCT IN CAPITALS, IT WAS £ NOW IT'S £! SALE SALE SALE!") rather than a well thought out designed web banner. Needless to say it wasn't what I expected it to be.

I'm sick of helping undeserving, lying people make more money and I want to do something that helps people. I looked into art therapy, physiotherapist, helping animals, even teaching pole(!) but I just can't make up my mind. I have little self-confidence, I actually can't say what my strengths are because I don't believe in myself. I feel it is time to change my career slightly – so something that involves creativity, as I currently everyday I dread going to work and I sit at my desk thinking 'what has happened to my life'. I get so down every few weeks as I can't find any other suitable jobs and I can't afford to study another degree again.

I know some of you have changed careers and was wondering if you could share your story and inspire me. Where did you find your courage from to change? I'm scared to take the leap of faith and I don't know what I actually want to do as I'm very indecisive and can't stick to 1 thing for long …