StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Self taught vs classses

• Self taught vs classses

Posted by Sabrina27 on February 15, 2010 at 11:05 am

Hey

I’m just curious as to know how many of you take pole dancing lessons and how many teach yourselves at home?

I appreciate that you save money by not forking out on classes and it’s in the privacy of your own home, but I can’t help but feel that attending lessons adds that fun factor in learning the pole. A chance to get yourself out there, meet new people and be social with other pole addicts. https://www.studioveena.com/img/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif

Runemist34 replied 14 years, 5 months ago 18 Members · 24 Replies
  • 24 Replies
  • polergirl

February 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm

I think classes and safety training are crucial, at least until one gets to a certain point. Building a good base is, IMO anyway, a lot tougher to do when you don’t have someone explaining hand positioning, making sure you’re not throwing yourself into moves, etc.

Regular class time maybe isn’t as necessary after a dancer reaches a certain level, but this is where pole jams and the like are a huge positive.

Plus, as you mentioned, classes are fun and inspiring!!

• chemgoddess1

February 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm

When I started out there were no classes in my area.

I think just the opposite…much of the beginner stuff can be learned from videos and the like, it is when you start getting into the advanced moves that I feel it is better to get to a studio. There are so many little nuances that simply cannot be taught via video and unless you are taping yourself you really cannot see where you may be having issues. I also like getting out amongst others that enjoy pole as much as I do.

• Mary Ellyn

February 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm

I was pretty much self taught (internet, friends videos and advice but no live teacher) for the first two years. Then I was fortunate enough to learn more from some of the best pole dancers known at that time.