StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions back pain while inverting

• back pain while inverting

Posted by Julia Marie on September 5, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Hey 🙂 I’ve been knowing this page for some time know and finally decided to crate an account now, ’cause I thought you might be able to help me.
    I’ve been poling for 3 years now (with a half year break recently because of injuries). I’d consider myself an intermediate poler, I can do Ayeshas, Cocoon, Jade splits, even managed the rainbow marchenko once…
    Nevertheless there are two very basic moves that are bothering: the invert and the shoulder mount.
    I am experiencing a somewhat sharp pain in both moves, it is quite moderate in shoulder mount but nearly unbearable after a few inverts…
    It is located on my lower ribcage, on the left side of my vertebrae.
    It always lasts for some time after poling, which is annoying me. I love pole and I really love doing freestyles and stuff, but it really sucks if you always feel like dying afterwards.
    By now I even feel somewhat anxious about doing a normal invert because of that pain.
    Is anybody experiencing something similar? Or does anybody know why this happens and how to fix it?
    Help would be much appreciated!
    Kind regards
    Julia

Julia Marie replied 7 years, 7 months ago 9 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • AllysonKendal

September 5, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Are you inverting primarily on one side?

• Julia Marie

September 6, 2016 at 7:34 am

Yes, mostly on my left side, however it doesn’t make a big difference if I try it on the other one.

• Paunobs

September 6, 2016 at 10:34 am

Bruised intercostal muscle ??

• Papillon

September 6, 2016 at 8:58 pm