StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Pole dancing with a defibrillator/pacemaker

• Pole dancing with a defibrillator/pacemaker

Posted by mrs dunham on January 15, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Hi All!
    Do any of you happen to have a defibrillator/pacemaker implanted? I’m only 25 but I’ve had this thing in since I was 18 and I’m a little worried that I won’t be able to do as many moves etc. and was just wondering if anyone has any experience with this or knows anyone who does.
    -M

Ldadams426622 replied 7 years, 4 months ago 6 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • korinne

January 16, 2014 at 12:03 am

I don’t see why it would. Do you have any movement restriction or exercise limitations currently?

• IchigoMewMew

January 16, 2014 at 1:32 am

I cant see it being a problem, what advice have you been given for exercise in general? As its an older device, I’m assuming 7 years old from what you’ve written, as a cardiac technician i would want to know what systems it has in place for knowing the difference between normal and abnormal fast heart rates. From the point of view of it physically ‘getting in the way’if that’s your concern i cant imagine it being a problem, the leads should be very well seated by now it may just be a bit uncomfortable to stretch your shoulder a lot if its a sub pectoral implant, if its abdominal there may be a couple of moves later on that may press against it (those moves are unvormfortable as hell asit is!) if you have the medical all clear to exercise then go for it 🙂 if it does physically get in your way its likely to be at a more intermediate -advanced level. Sorry that’s gone on forever!

• lauren274630

April 4, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Hi! I was wondering how your pole journey has been going with a pacemaker?? I have been poling for 2.5 years and LOVE it. Have had heart issues for 20 years (I’m 23 now) and will likely get a pacemaker in the next year or so and am wondering how you adapted to learning pole with it in??

• ipole2