StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Pole Width – What works best for petite ladies?

• Pole Width – What works best for petite ladies?

Posted by StrangeFox on April 14, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Hey guys – I got a lot of helpful replies with my first post so I thought I’d ask another question. 🙂 I know I’m pretty new to this but I’d like to buy a pole so I can practice at home. I don’t have the option of practicing anywhere else, and I find my lessons are fantastic but they go by too quick! I’m looking at purchasing an x-pole through the studio I’m learning at, and I’m curious about what the best pole width would be for me.

45mm looks like it’s standard, but I have very tiny hands(I have trouble buying rings and gloves) and feet, and I’m petite and short (5’1″, 152 cms) with muscular legs. I haven’t had an issue with the poles in the studio, and my grip is actually decent if a bit on the sticky side. Should I go for the standard size, or the slimmer 40mm? I hear it’s harder to do leg holds on the 40mm but I read somewhere it’s easier for shorter/petite women to learn on a slimmer pole. My concern with a slimmer pole is that I’m worried I might not be able to pole on a standard pole, or I might cheat myself out of strength building. Any advice would be great!

StrangeFox replied 6 years, 11 months ago 6 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • mystical

April 14, 2017 at 6:32 pm

I have a 45mm TG pole and i love the width, studios usually have 45mm sometimes 50mm i have heard. I don’t think the width will have impact cause your petite cause I have seen some petite and larger ladies do all kinds of tricks on any diameter pole, its all about preference.

• StrangeFox

April 15, 2017 at 2:54 am