Posted by PoleDreamer86 on March 23, 2017 at 4:46 pm

I am new to pole dance, I am so new that I do not even have a pole yet. I feel in love with pole dancing when I participated in a pole party last year. It’s been at the back of my mind ever since. Now I’ve finally decided to take a step in actually learning. Any suggestions and/or advice on how to start and the best pole for beginners. How much space is needed for a pole?

Veena replied 7 years ago 4 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Duopoly

March 23, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Welcome Jamie!
    I totally know how you feel. I took an intro class with a friend once, and the memory of it buzzed around in my head for like 3 years until I finally got my own pole 😛

I see you’ve got the lessons. That’s excellent. I know the sheer amount of videos on here can be daunting at first. I suggest you start looking through the beginner section to start with, just to get acclimatised what you’ll be doing soon. Since you don’t have a pole, you could get started with some of the conditioning lessons to condition your body for pole. Veena has a video called “getting started conditioning”, which explains how to go about using the conditioning lessons properly. At the end there are full routines/workouts that you can follow along with.

When you get your pole, or get access to one somehow, you can do the “30 day take off” (in the lessons section). That’ll give you a nice intro to some basic moves, stretching and strength training. It’s a great way to start.

As far as the space you’ll need… I’d say that in the space between the pole and the wall, you should at least be able to extend both arms up to shoulder height. But people have been known to make it work with even less room than that.

• Brittanyshanah1663

March 24, 2017 at 1:21 am