StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions New to Pole Dancing

• New to Pole Dancing

Posted by StrangeFox on April 13, 2017 at 4:44 am

Hey everyone!

I’m new to pole dancing and this is my first post here. This seems like a very knowledgeable and welcoming community so I thought I’d take the time to quickly introduce myself before posting a couple of questions. I’ve only been for two pole dancing classes and already I’m hooked. I’m a distance runner and wanted to take up something fun and challenging that would help me build core strength, flexibility, and upper body strength.

I’ve always been in awe of pole dancers and really wanted to try it so after telling myself for ages that I could never do it I decided to dive right in and give this a chance. I was fully expecting to leave my first class with a seriously bruised ego but fortunately, the only thing to get a little bruised were my knees. 🙂 I was surprised I was actually able to do a fireman spin, and hold my body weight on the pole and slide down. I’ve never been coordinated or athletic, so I was super chuffed I wasn’t on my butt the whole time!

I have a couple of newbie questions…

1) Anyone have any pointers for the back hook spin? I’m feeling like a bit of a loser because I can get it sometimes but other times I totally miss. 🙂 Part of my problem is that I can’t seem to built momentum and I get super disoriented/over think it. Anyone else find this one hard when they were first learning? The first couple of times I tried this I got confused and did a stag spin, then a front hook.

2) When I’m holding on to the pole with my legs lifted, I find it difficult to keep my arms from extending. Will that improve as I strengthen my upper body, or is there some trick to keeping your elbows close to your ribs?

I’m loving the videos I’m seeing on here and hope to one day be even a fraction as talented! 😉

StrangeFox replied 6 years, 11 months ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Aquarian Air