StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions “Middle child” syndrome in class – how to deal?

• “Middle child” syndrome in class – how to deal?

Posted by RoMo on March 6, 2018 at 7:48 am

I’ve been poling with my teacher for about 3 years (I followed her when she left the studio near my house). I really like how she teaches (and it doesn’t seem I currently have better places to learn, so leaving her isn’t really an option), but lately I’ve been feeling like the proverbial “middle child”.

A few months ago, a few acrobats started coming to class. They are really advanced, even though they are new to pole. She loves working with them because she can give them advanced tricks.
    Also, there’s always the flux of all the newer students, who need her attention.
    So, over the past three months, I’ve been feeling that I’m being kind of left behind. During classes, she’ll show us (me and a few other girls who are intermediate level) a trick or two and leave us for the advanced and newbies, who will take up most of her time. I feel that she doesn’t stick around enough to help us with learning new things, which I really need. We’re kind of left to fend for ourselves because we’re good enough to know not to do stupid stuff.
    Furthermore, I’m a bit heavier than some of the other girls I usually work with, so there’s only one or two other girls who I trust to spot me when I’m trying something new.

I hope I’m making sense… Is there a nice way to point out that I’d like a bit more attention during class without making my teacher feel like I’m accusing her?

Thanks

StrangeFox replied 6 years, 1 month ago 4 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • PenelopeAnn

March 7, 2018 at 10:19 am