StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Lighter Color on Dyed Red Hair? Help me do it at home Please!

• Lighter Color on Dyed Red Hair? Help me do it at home Please!

Posted by AllyCat on July 28, 2011 at 11:06 pm

I am really hoping someone will be able to advise me on this DIY hair project.

I have been dying my hair at home for about 5 years now, so I am no stranger to the difficult process that I have ahead of me. I started with sandy blonde hair and the very first time I dyed it, I went straight to permanent Blue-black and kept it that way for a year.

Since then I have bleached it, stripped it, and dyed it many times to achieve a lighter color… Finally, about 6 months ago, I got it to a healthy looking light red that I could stand and have not touched it since because I couldnt stand the smells after I got pregnant…

I am now ready to embark once again and try to go lighter… my roots and about 3 inches of my hair are back to my sandy blonde color but the rest is still the light red. So I guess I need to know what to buy to achieve a lighter color, and how you would reccommend doing it so I wouldnt get really light roots and kinda light hair? 

I just cant stand being this color anymore… so any help would be really appreciated. Thanks.

jazzygirl88 replied 10 years, 7 months ago 13 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • chemgoddess1

July 29, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Sally’s carries a color remover that I have used on many occasions. It is not as harsh as trying to bleach the color out. Usually I would use that and then use the ion 3 step damage repair. Then I would use the protein filler after I dyed my hair. I don’t know how light you are going but I would also look into a packet of cassia from henna for hair. It will make your hair shine (but call and make sure it won’t impart too much yellow).

• JBStarryEyedGirl

July 29, 2011 at 4:14 pm