StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Lightening hair that has been dyed dark

• Lightening hair that has been dyed dark

Posted by seratamsin on May 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Hi there,

I've not posted in this forum before, but have found this site useful so hopefuly someone here will be able to help me…

I've been dying my hair dark red/violet colours for about 7 or 8 years. I don't 'just dye the roots' i colour it all over, about once every six weeks. I usually use LIVE colours permanent colour that contains hydrogen peroxide and ammonia.

I would now like to lighten my hair so that I'm able to use bright/semi permanent/UV-reactive colours as they don't touch my hair at the moment, it's just too dark for the colours to show up.

Two salons have said no, they will not be able to lighten my hair. They took a few strands and used bleach, the result was a brassy copper orange type colour and it looked like straw. 

I'm sure loads of people have done this: Should I just bleach the hell out of my hair and then use a semi permanent colour on top straight away to cover the awful brass colour? Or will this make my hair fall out completely? 

It does get quite dry at the moment, probably from the years of colouring it, I use loads of conditioner but it's not really badly damaged, despite all the dye.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

blessedmommy332741 replied 8 years, 1 month ago 31 Members · 38 Replies
  • 38 Replies
  • Veena

Administrator
    May 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm

I'm sure there has to be some stylist on here who you'll offer suggestions!