StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Hair Flips

• Hair Flips

Posted by Domolovestea on October 17, 2017 at 3:35 am

Hi everyone!

I’m just getting into pole dancing and have quickly noticed how empowering it appears to be able to do hair flips. I have thick afro-textured hair and find it extremely difficult to achieve this look without heat or hair extentions. Should I consider chemically straightening my hair? I just can’t help but feel so unsexy with hair that doesn’t flip and gets squashed when I do floor work that requires me to lay flat on my back. I probably won’t relax my hair, but i’m starting to feel a little desperate. I’d really appreciate tips or suggestions.

Thanks!

Veena replied 6 years, 6 months ago 9 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • Barbarella

October 17, 2017 at 8:49 am

Hi Domolovestea,
    I’m afraid I can’t give you any advice, but I can tell you you are not alone! I have rather curse and thick hair (not afro-textured though). When doing hair flips it gets stuck in very weird, fluffy shapes. Just as if I had been headbanging at a heavy metal concert :-)) At the moment I prefer to keep my hair up in a bun while dancing… Maybe we should just tell ourselves that sexy comes from the inside and not from things like hair, a skinny body or whatever…

• Domolovestea

October 17, 2017 at 9:59 am

Thanks for the advice Barbarella!

Your comment about head-banging at metal concerts made me smile. I think maybe I’m just taking myself too seriously. Especially after marathoning advanced pole routines on Youtube. Pole is about having fun and expressing ourselves afterall. Thanks for helping me see that.

I should have mentioned this in my last post, but my hair is kind of short, so bunning is a sad no-go. But I still really appreciate the suggestion!

• grayeyes

October 18, 2017 at 12:30 am