StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions which pole?

• which pole?

Posted by hanbow74364 on August 19, 2014 at 6:07 am

Hi guys, I’m a beginner pole dancer and I was looking to buy a dance pole. I have a tight budget so I was looking at cheap poles and I was just wondering if they would be safe and if any of you have cheaper, unbranded poles? (:

Dancing Paws replied 9 years, 8 months ago 8 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Cherished

August 19, 2014 at 6:44 am

I think it would be better to buy a 2nd hand brand name like Platinum Stages, Xpole or Lil Minx instead of getting a new cheaper brandless pole and if you choose to go 2nd hand before buying check with the company or even here about what details to pay attention to when verifying if the pole is authentic.

• Alyson

August 19, 2014 at 7:50 am

I would stay away from cheap, no name poles. You never know what you’re getting, and that can be really dangerous

• PolarGirl

August 19, 2014 at 8:23 pm

You would be better off training on a pole at the playground for tricks such – and working on strength, flexibility, and floor work/ dance at home – until you have saved enough money for a “real” pole like the ones that have been suggested.

Unbranded poles are not meant to support your body weight and are completely unsafe, even for doing most spins. It would ultimately be a waste of money and carries a high risk of potential injury, which would only put you further behind in terms of advancing your pole skills. Plus, the pole could fall or come apart and damage your ceiling, walls, etc.

Just google “pole dance fails” or something like that, and you can see a huge number of pole videos where someone attempts a spin or inversion on a crappy unstable pole and falls head first, or shatters something in the room, or puts the pole through some drywall. Don’t let that be you!!!!

Good luck saving for your first pole and on your new pole journey!

• Phoenix Hunter

August 19, 2014 at 10:31 pm