Splits - How long did it take you?

Elektra Vallens

I've been working on my splits 3-5 times a week for about six months, and although I'm further down than where I started, the progress is (a lot) slower than I expected.  (My routine is to take a hot bath, then do about 30 min of stretches before actually trying the splits.)

I'd love to hear how long it took you to get down to the floor, where you started, what you did, and whether you had never done a split before. (I gather it's different trying to get them back than trying to do it for your first time in adulthood) 
Feb 27, 2012 from Boston, Massachusetts, United States
amy

do you know the differences between passive, dynamic, or resistance stretching? have you tried all three?
Feb 27, 2012 from New York, New York, United States
Elektra Vallens

In a word: yes.  Did you have a specific stretch or stretches in mind?
Feb 27, 2012 from Boston, Massachusetts, United States
MrsNaughtywed

It took me just over a year to get all the way down. I am the most unflexible person everrr. I worked on my splits approx 3-4 times a week. Sometimes more. Sometimes less. I kind of wasn't consistant and I have no one to blame but myself. But anyways, it took me just over a year to get all the way down. It's now 1.5 years and I still don 't feel comfortable getting all the way down. And there are still some days where I regress a little. Keep working at it. It can take a long time but you will get it if you don't give up. :)

I suggest working on your splits after a good workout. Your body is so warm and loose after and it can stretch much more. :)
Feb 27, 2012 from Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Abn2538