StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Spinning directions etc

• Spinning directions etc

Posted by AllysonKendal on August 29, 2014 at 11:15 am

So I’m at work… Dancing in my head (I’m sure you guys know what I mean). Anyway some conversation is always fun too.

I’m new to spiny pole… And I have a few questions. I know it’s important to balance things out. I know doing one move on your dominate side leaves you in the position where the next move is on your non dominate side. That’s why it’s important to practice both.

But sometimes on spiny pole I’ll do one move, and the next move isn’t ideal for the direction I’m spinning (Ah! Another layer to the puzzle!) I’m finding some combos need to be rethought out a bit.

Do you find yourself switching spin directions often in your dance? What about between moves that don’t involve you pushing off the ground? I guess leg switches can be a good example of changing directions on the pole. Do you find that more difficult? Do you prefer to stay in one direction for lengths of time?

Is there a direction you prefer to spin? Is there a direction you prefer to invert? Backwards or forwards?

Yeah, I know sometimes the best thing is to just dance… And go where the spin takes you… But right now I can’t, all I can do it think-dance!

I need to focus on this more when I watch people’s freestyle videos, but usually I’m too captivated by the dance!

Anyway just thought I’d see what everyone had to say.

Lina Spiralyne replied 9 years, 7 months ago 6 Members · 18 Replies
  • 18 Replies
  • Rachel Osborne

August 29, 2014 at 11:48 am

I tend to go round and round the same way so I try to forward think it a bit and start off with a combo going the other way. Example: tuck spin into thigh rest/apprentice sequence, then dismount and make shapes against pole/on floor, then remount and go my preferred way which lets me do my usual swan to car, back to plank, or gemini to butterfly/gemini to jade/pike/tuck blah blah on my right (dominant side).