StudioVeena.com Forums Discussions Advice (or encouragement!) for a Beginner!

• Advice (or encouragement!) for a Beginner!

Posted by AliceColleen on June 9, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Hello all. Just joined StudioVeena and am SO excited to start learning! …but I’m also somewhat intimidated. I’m brand new to pole and am so impressed by what I see here. I know everyone was once a beginner… I’m curious: How were you introduced to pole? Have you ever been discouraged about it? What motivated you to keep on practicing?

Lina Spiralyne replied 9 years, 10 months ago 8 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • CrazyKosters

June 9, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I just remember always wanting to do pole and my friend had one when I was like 19 or something. Wanted one since but never did it until January 2013. As far as advice and motivation, remember that everyone learns at their own pace and persistence and patience pays off. Watching vids of the pros can be both motivating and discouraging when all you want to do is be like them lol. Some of the people here and on YouTube etc..have been doing this for years and some have gymnastics or dance background. Stay determined and record your sessions if possible. You don’t need to post them but it will help you to see what your doing and what you want to change. My motivation is nailing a move and or watching a vid of myself and seeing the improvement over the long run. Some days will be bad pole days, don’t get discouraged. Sometimes you will loose moves you could previously do. Yes the pain gets better! Lol

• AliceColleen

June 12, 2014 at 8:58 am

Thank you for the encouragement! 🙂
    I really like your idea of doing videos to track your progress, and remembering that everyone learns at their own pace. I’m also trying to celebrate small successes – I can now sit on the pole easily and I used to find it so uncomfortable!
    Anyways, really appreciated your perspective!

• Stefana of Light

June 12, 2014 at 9:29 am